

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 31, 2010

Contacts:

The University of Alabama School of Law Aaron Latham (205) 348-5195 ALatham@Law.UA.Edu Skadden, Arps Harald Stavenas (212) 735-2708 Harald.Stavenas@Skadden.com

# Death Penalty Fairness Advocate Wins 2010 Morris Dees Justice Award

The international law firm of Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom, LLP and The University of Alabama School of Law announced today that Larry Hammond, founder and chair of the Arizona Justice Project and the creator of the Center for Forensic Science and Public Policy at The American Judicature Society, has been awarded the 2010 Morris Dees Justice Award. The award will be presented in New York on November 18, 2010.

New York, NY – Skadden, Arps and The University of Alabama School of Law announced today that Larry Hammond, founder and chair of the Arizona Justice Project, has been awarded the 2010 Morris Dees Justice Award.

Legendary civil rights attorney Morris Dees, who is co-founder and chief trial counsel of the Southern Poverty Law Center, will present the award to Hammond, a partner in the Arizona law firm of Osborn Maledon, P.A., during a reception at Skadden, Arps's offices in New York City on Thursday, November 18, 2010.

The Morris Dees Justice Award was created in 2006 by Skadden, Arps and The University of Alabama School of Law to honor Dees, an Alabama graduate, for his life-long devotion to public service. The award is given annually to a lawyer who has devoted his or her career to serving the public interest and pursuing justice, and whose work has brought about positive change in the community, state, or nation.

Hammond, the 2010 award recipient, has spent much of his career in public service, including stints clerking for U.S. Supreme Court Justices Hugo L. Black and Lewis F. Powell, Jr.; as an Assistant Special Prosecutor during Watergate; and as Deputy Assistant Attorney General in the Office of Legal Counsel at the Department of Justice.

Hammond is the founder and chair of the Arizona Justice Project, and a member of the Board of the Arizona Capital Representation Project. He also serves as chair of the Criminal Justice Reform Committee of The American Judicature Society (AJS), an organization he served as president from 2003 to 2005.

continues on next page

Hammond is honored for his tireless work to correct systemic injustice in death penalty litigation in the United States, for his representation of defendants in capital cases and for leading efforts to create the AJS Institute for Forensic Science and Public Policy during his presidency of AJS.

A recipient of many local and national awards, Hammond was nominated by a distinguished group that included former U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno and former Dean of Yale Law School Harold Hongju Koh.

The first Morris Dees Justice Award recipient, in 2006, was U.S. District Judge William Wayne Justice, of the Eastern District of Texas. The 2007 winner was Arthur N. Read, general counsel for Friends of Farmworkers, Inc., based in Philadelphia. The 2008 award went to Cheryl Little, executive director of the Florida Immigrant Advocacy Center, which is located in Miami. Last year's award recipient was presented to Gordon Bonnyman, Jr., executive director of the Tennessee Justice Center in Nashville.

A sculpture commemorating the award was created by Jillian Crochet, a graduate of The University of Alabama who won the design competition in 2006.

Members of the 2010 Morris Dees Justice Award Selection Committee, who were charged with choosing this year's recipient, are:

#### • Helaine M. Barnett

Past President, Legal Services Corporation

# • Judge Bernice B. Donald

Western District, Tennessee

Secretary, American Bar Association

#### • Bryan Fair

Thomas E. Skinner Professor of Law, The University of Alabama School of Law

## • Cheryl I. Harris

Professor of Law, UCLA School of Law

#### • Bradley S. Phillips

Co-Chair, Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law

## • Susan Butler Plum

Director, Skadden Fellowship Foundation

## • Kenneth Randall

Dean, The University of Alabama School of Law

## • Steven R. Shapiro

Legal Director, ACLU

#### • Robert C. Sheehan

Former Executive Partner, Skadden, Arps

## • Jeffrey Toobin

Senior Analyst, CNN

# • Vaughn C. Williams

Partner, Skadden, Arps

#### • Judith A. Winston

Former General Counsel & Undersecretary, U.S. Department of Education

Visit <a href="www.DeesJusticeAward.com">www.DeesJusticeAward.com</a> for more information regarding the 2010 Morris Dees Justice Award.