6 Osborn Maledon attorneys named ‘Phoenix Lawyer of the Year’; 28 selected 2021 “Best Lawyers” and 6 are ‘Ones to Watch’

August 20, 2020

Six Osborn Maledon attorneys recently received the highest rankings for the 2021 edition of Best Lawyers®, the oldest peer-review publication in the legal profession. They were named “Phoenix Lawyer of the Year” in their practice areas, an honor awarded to only a single lawyer in each practice area in a community.

Twenty-eight lawyers were selected “Best Lawyers,” and another six Osborn Maledon attorneys were named “Ones to Watch,” a new category that honors attorneys who have been in private practice less than the 10 years. 

“Phoenix Lawyer of the Year” are Lynne Adams, education law; Brett Dunkelman, antitrust litigation; David Rosenbaum, securities litigation; Christopher Stachowiak, securities/capital markets law; Warren Stapleton, bankruptcy litigation; and Geoffrey Sturr, ethics, and professional responsibility law. 

The attorneys selected “Best Lawyers” and the practice areas for which they are recognized are:

  • Lynne Adams, education law;
  • Jonathan Ariano, corporate law;
  • Josh Bendor, appellate practice;
  • Colin Campbell, arbitration, commercial litigation, and mediation;
  • Tom Curzon, corporate law and mergers & acquisitions;
  • Doug Dalton, commercial litigation;
  • Jack Dearing, real estate law;
  • Brett Dunkelman, antitrust law, antitrust litigation, intellectual property litigation, and patent litigation;
  • Tim Eckstein, white-collar criminal defense;
  • Eric M. Fraser, appellate law and intellectual property litigation;
  • David Garner, education law;
  • Meghan Grabel, energy law; 
  • Bill Hardin, corporate law, securities/capital markets law;
  • Mark Harrison, appellate, commercial litigation, ethics, and professional responsibility, legal malpractice law (defendants) and legal malpractice law (plaintiffs);
  • Thomas Hudson, appellate law, “Bet-the-Company” litigation and commercial litigation; 
  • Andrew Kelly, corporate law and gaming law;
  • Thayne Lowe, real estate law;
  • Bill Maledon, “Bet-the-Company” litigation, commercial litigation, entertainment law (motion pictures and television); entertainment law (music), antitrust litigation and sports law;
  • Jeff Molinar, commercial litigation;
  • Mary O’Grady, appellate law;
  • Scott Rodgers, “Bet-the-Company” litigation, commercial litigation, employment law (management) and labor and employment litigation;
  • David Rosenbaum, “Bet-the-Company” litigation, commercial litigation, construction litigation, intellectual property litigation; mergers & acquisitions litigation; and securities litigation;
  • Joe Roth, appellate law, commercial litigation;
  • Christopher Stachowiak, corporate law, mergers & acquisition law, securities/capital markets law and securities regulation;
  • Warren Stapleton, bankruptcy and creditor-debtor rights/insolvency and reorganization law and bankruptcy litigation;
  • Geoffrey Sturr, “Bet-the-Company” litigation, commercial litigation and ethics and professional responsibility law;
  • Andrew Western, corporate law;
  • Kristin Windtberg, labor and employment law.

The six “Ones to Watch” named are Emma Cone-Roddy, William FurnishTravis Hunt, and Joshua Whitaker, all commercial litigators; Phillip Londen, appellate and commercial litigation; and Oscar Lopez, corporate law.

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers has become highly regarded as a guide to legal excellence. Ratings are based on an extensive peer-review survey.